People


Head of Department

gostomski.alt

Associate Professor Peter Gostomski
Head of Department
Room: 436, Von Haast
Phone: +64 3 364 2141 (direct)
Internal Phone: ext 6141
peter.gostomski@canterbury.ac.nz

Academic Staff

Dr Simone Dimartino
Lecturer
Room: 311, Electrical Engineering building
Phone: + 64 3 364 2209 (direct)
Internal phone: ext 6209
simone.dimartino@canterbury.ac.nz

Professor Conan Fee
Professor
Modification of therapeutic proteins with polymers to improve drugs, purification of proteins, and interactions of biomolecules, particularly with surfaces
Room: 429A, Von Haast
Phone: + 64 3 364 2139 (direct)
Internal Phone: ext 6139
conan.fee@canterbury.ac.nz

Dr Aaron Marshall
Senior Lecturer/Director of Post Graduate Studies
Electrochemical engineering, hydrogen production, fuel cell technology, electrocatalysis, catalysis by design, nanoparticle synthesis and characterisation, thermodynamics
Room: 427, Von Haast
Phone: +64 3 364 2987
Internal phone: ext 4292
aaron.marshall@canterbury.ac.nz

morison.alt

Associate Professor Ken Morison
Associate Professor
Food Engineering, dairy processes, physical properties, fluid mechanics, modelling and simulation
Room: 429A, Von Haast
Phone: +64 3 364 2578 (direct)
Internal phone: ext 6578
ken.morison@canterbury.ac.nz

Professor Shusheng Pang
Director, Wood Technology Research Centre,
Processing of Wood based materials (MDF, LVL, WPCs); Biomass gasification, biomass pyrolysis; Drying technologies; Sustainability analysis for bioenergy and biofuels
Room: 312, Electrical Engineering building
Phone: +64 3 364 2538 (direct)
Internal phone: ext 6538
shusheng.pang@canterbury.ac.nz

visnovsky.alt

Dr Gabriel Visnovsky
Senior Lecturer
Fermentation, bioreactor design and operation, high cell density cultures of animal cells and microorganisms, bioprocess optimization and scale up
Room:313, Electrical Engineering building
Phone: +64 3 364 2140 (direct)
Internal phone:6140
gabriel.visnovsky@canterbury.ac.nz

Dr Chris J. Williamson
Senior Lecturer, Director of 3rd year Professional Studies
Room: 314, Electrical Engineering building
Phone: +64 3 364 2865 (direct)
Internal phone: ext 6865
chris.williamson@canterbury.ac.nz

Dr Alex Yip
Lecturer
Design of novel catalysts for energy and environmental applications
Room: 429B, Von Haast
Phone: +64 3 364 2534 (direct)
Internal phone: ext 6534
alex.yip@canterbury.ac.nz

Research Associates & Post Doctoral Fellows

Dr Alfred Herritsch
Research Associate
Room: E130F
Phone: + 64 3 364 2987
Internal phone: ext 7126
alfred.herritsch@canterbury.ac.nz

Dr Tim Huber
Post Doctoral Fellow
Room: E130D
Phone: + 64 3 364 2131
Internal Phone: ext 7131
tim.huber@canterbury.ac.nz

Jingge Li
Research Associate
Room: E130B
Phone: + 64 3 364 2409 (direct)
Internal phone: ext 6409
jingge.li@canterbury.ac.nz

Mathieu Vilmay
Research Associate
Room E130D
Phone: + 64 3 364 2177
Internal Phone: ext 6177
mathieu.vilmay@canterbury.ac.nz

Administrative and Support Staff

Ranee Hearst
Administrative Services Manager
Room: 429 Von Haast
Phone: + 64 3 364 2302 (direct)
Internal phone: ext 6302
ranee.hearst@canterbury.ac.nz

Hollie Bradley
Administrative Assistant
Room 429 Von Haast
Phone: + 64 3 364 2543 (direct)
Internal phone: ext 6543
hollie.bradley@canterbury.ac.nz

Technical Staff

Mr Tony Allen
Computer Support
Room: D214
Phone: + 64 3 364 2987
Internal phone: ext 7136
tony.allen@canterbury.ac.nz

Mr Stephen Beuzenberg
Electrical and Electronics Workshop
Room: D203
Phone: + 64 3 364 2422
Internal Phone: ext 6422
stephen.beuzenberg@canterbury.ac.nz

fred_shorts

Ms Rayleen Fredericks
Research (Laboratory) Technician
Room: D224
Phone: + 64 3 364 2256
Internal Phone: ext 6256
rayleen.fredericks@canterbury.ac.nz

Mr Stephen Hood
Mechanical Workshop
Room: D117
Phone: + 64 3 364 2123
Internal Phone: ext 6123
stephen.hood@canterbury.ac.nz

tmoore

Mr Tim Moore
Health and Safety Officer/Technical Services Manager
Electrical and Electronics Workshop
Room: D203/D224
Phone: + 64 3 364 2422 or 364 2256
Internal Phone: ext 6422/6256
tim.moore@canterbury.ac.nz

Mr Leigh Richardson
Mechanical Workshop
Room: D117
Phone: + 64 3 364 2123
Internal Phone: ext 6123
leigh.richardson@canterbury.ac.nz

Mr Michael Sandridge
Analytical Technician
Room: D222
Phone: + 64 3 364 2987
Internal Phone: ext 7154
michael.sandridge@canterbury.ac.nz

Mr Garrick Thorn
Design Engineer

Room: 425, Von Haast
Phone: +64 3 364 2987
Internal phone: ext 7011
garrick.thorn@canterbury.ac.nz

Mr Frank Weerts
Mechanical Workshop
Room: D117
Phone: + 64 3 364 2123
Internal Phone: ext 6123
frank.weerts@canterbury.ac.nz

Mr Glenn Wilson
Accounts, Stores and Purchasing
Room: D104
Phone: + 64 3 364 2228
Internal Phone: ext 6228
glenn.wilson@canterbury.ac.nz

Emeritus and Retired Staff

abrahamson

Associate Professor John Abrahamson
Retired Associate Professor

john.abrahamson@canterbury.ac.nz

earl.alt Associate Professor Brian Earl
Retired Staff

brian.earl@canterbury.ac.nz
gilmour.alt Mr Ian Gilmour
Retired Senior Lecturer
Room: E130

ian.gilmour@canterbury.ac.nz
jordon.alt

Dr Pat. Jordan
Retired Senior Lecturer

pat.jordan@canterbury.ac.nz

keey.alt

Professor Roger Keey
Emeritus Professor

r.keey@xtra.co.nz

marsh

Professor Ken Marsh
Retired Professor

ken.marsh@canterbury.ac.nz

peet

Dr John Peet
Retired Senior Lecturer

Phone 03 384 1281
njpeet@gmail.com

williamson

Professor Emeritus Arthur Williamson
Emeritus Professor
Room: E542
Phone: +64 3 364 2142 (direct)
Internal Phone: ext 6142
arthur.williamson@canterbury.ac.nz

Student Representatives

1st Pro
Alannah Clark

1st Pro
Erik Gulliksen

2nd Pro
Libby Ellery

2nd Pro
Ollie Leadbeater

3rd Pro
Natalie Lindsay

3rd Pro
Alice Stembridge

3rd Pro
Cameron Gensik

Postgrad
Tansy Wigley

  • Department of Chemical
    and Process Engineering

    University of Canterbury
    Private Bag 4800 
    Christchurch
    New Zealand
  • Phone: + 64 3 364 2543
    Fax: + 64 3 364 2063
  • Contacts page
  • Follow us
    FacebookYoutubetwitterLinked In